Skip to content

User login

Author Education

Hot Kindle Deals

Review - Megan's Way - Melissa Foster

14 replies [Last post]
StacySEaton's picture
StacySEaton
Offline
Joined: 2011-10-16
ShareThis

I gave this 5 Stars - Awesome!

Before I read this book, I watched the video trailer of it. It can be found here for those who wish to view it, and I suggest that you do. http://www.melissafoster.com/content/meg...

The video intrigued me to read this book. Not knowing more then what I had seen in the video, I began to read and found myself totally engulfed in this story. Author Melissa Foster not only wrote an inspiring story of love and loss but captivated me to the point that I have now put this book on my top 10 list of all time favorite novels.

Ms. Foster did an amazing job of bringing her characters to life, even after death, and made me feel the love, the pain, the humor and the grief of the characters. There were many times when the tears the characters shed also rolled down my cheeks.

Within our world, Cancer is a bad word. A disease that we all know about and few speak about. Couple a very intense taboo subject with the pain of losing a loved one and the pathway to dealing with the grief and you find yourself in one very deep and meaningful story. Ms. Foster's view of the afterlife fell right in line with how many of us may view the thought of what happens after death.

As a mother with a young daughter, I found myself thinking if I would have the strength to do what Megan did. Would my daughter have the strength to do what Olivia did? I pray that I will never have to find that out.

Within this very powerful story you will not only find love and grief, but you will find yourself moving along to twists and turns that you could not have seen coming. The creativity that came out of the mind of Ms. Foster is absolutely captivating. I applaud her for her writing and will continue to follow her in her writing career.

0
Your rating: None
James P Wilcox's picture
James P Wilcox
Offline
Joined: 2011-11-20
5 Star Review Here

I picked up Megan's Way by Melissa Foster on the recommendation of a friend. Although this is not the type of book I usually read, I decided to give it a try. Overall I enjoyed the story about the relationship between a single mother who is stricken with cancer and her teenage daughter. I think there was just enough teen-angst and frustration on both sides to make the story real. Although I found parts of the book a little harder to swallow, the thing that stuck with me from Megan's Way was the theme of "no matter how well you know someone, you can't really know them". The book explores both sides of friendships, the love, joy and caring that they bring, but also what we hide to protect those friendships. Everyone in this story has a secret they are keeping for the sake of their friendships and I found it sad that none of them was willing or able to share these secrets, even with their "best" friends. Overall, I enjoyed the book, despite the references to mysticism, which I am not really interested in. The relationships between the characters is what makes this book worth reading.

Emerald Barnes's picture
Emerald Barnes
Offline
Joined: 2011-11-08
5 Stars!

In Megan's Way, you follow a circle of friends who have been close for many years. Megan has cancer, and her cancer is held over everyone of her friends' heads. The lingering question, "Will she die?" is constantly on their minds as well as the readers. There are secrets you think you know, and then when they're revealed, you never saw it coming.

Melissa Foster has woven an intricate tale of five friends. You love them, you cry with them, you laugh at the memories, and you find yourself wanting to be part of their group and hating that they aren't real.

AmyManemann's picture
AmyManemann
Offline
Joined: 2011-10-08
5 Stars!

This amazing novel written by Melissa Foster captured a topic near and dear to my own heart as I lost my own father in much the same way. I easily related to the characters in the story and was truly touched by the live emotions Ms Foster potrayed throughout Megan's Way.

This was a heartfelt, well written story I would highly recommend for anyone to read. Just make sure you have a box of tissues nearby!

WriterGirl's picture
WriterGirl
Online
Joined: 2011-08-02
Wow, thank you!

 Sweet! Thank you, ladies!

James P Wilcox's picture
James P Wilcox
Offline
Joined: 2011-11-20
So What Am I?

I quess I am falling into the ladies category now.

WriterGirl's picture
WriterGirl
Online
Joined: 2011-08-02
Oh no!

 James, I am so sorry! You are definitely NOT a lady. I was hurrying and I humbly apologize.

gejohnson's picture
gejohnson
Offline
Joined: 2011-10-11
A Winner in Style and Story - 5 Stars

Megan's Way is a symphony of highs and lows, joy and sadness, melody and dissonance. Because of the storyline, one would expect the main character, Megan, to be written as almost a "fairy tale" like character in order to garner as much sympathy for her plight as possible. Instead, the author makes her incredibly real, complete with flaws and dysfunction. The realness of the characters combined with the staccato writing style of the first half of the book give a realistic portrayal of how life would pass for someone in Megan's position - in flashes, with the emphasis on memorable moments. The calmer, smoother second half of the book illustrates a return to a more normal pace for the characters, a transition that stays true to the action of the story and leads the reader to the final resting place of the last page. Megan's Way is sure to have a lasting impact on anyone who ventures into its pages and I highly recommend it for both story and style.

WriterGirl's picture
WriterGirl
Online
Joined: 2011-08-02
Thank you, Gerria

Gerria, thank you for the detailed review. I really like the way you noted the pace of the story. Megan's Way is a very personal story for me, so these reviews really touch my heart.

James, you hit on one of the key elements of Megan's Way--that you never really know as much as you might thing about anyone. Everyone has their secrets in life. But, I wonder, did you also pick up on the theme of forgiveness and non-judgement? I hoped the reader might come away with tthoughts of introspection about judging others. What we see is never quite the whole story, and reasons for curious decisions often go undiscovered--but that doesn't make them invalid. 

stacymc2012's picture
stacymc2012
Offline
Joined: 2012-03-26
Absolutely AMAZING!

 

I'm so happy to be away from character counts and am now able to give the real review that this book deserves.

It is with a heavy heart that I write this. Oh, but not a heavy heart of sadness. Though, definitely a bit for Megan, but not completely. My heart is so swollen from the amount of emotions this book put me through! It was inspiring, captivating, eye-opening, shocking, wonderful and amazing! There just are not enough words in the world! It was/is a beautiful book!

Her writing is just absolutely flawless. The words she uses depict and perfectly paint out what she wants her readers to see in her characters, setting or plot. Melissa has a great way of connecting with her readers!

I started reading Megan's way on a Wednesday and was finished by the following Tuesday. Within the matter of those six days, I have never cried so much probably in my life! Every other line had me crying! But that was perfectly fine! It just showed that the lovely Melissa Foster had touched her readers with this book and put so much of her heart and soul into it! 

Megan's Way was most definitely an eye-opener. It made me reconsider everyone and everything around me. Put into perspective what was the most important thing in life family and friend and what could simply wait. It made me realize just how short life really is and how easily you can lose those around you.

The amount of pain that Megan was in throughout the book was enough to want to rip my heart out and just hand it over to Melissa. It would've hurt less than reading the pain Megan was going through! It was all so real. I could feel her anguish in my bones when she made the decision to stop her treatments just to save her daughter the hurt and how much it pained her to leave Olivia as well, because she didn't feel she was ready either...

The close friendship between Megan and Holly reminded me so much of my best friend and I. She and I have a whole country between us and the thought of me possibly ever losing her, made me shudder and cry! So I can only imagine how hard it must've been for Holly. Especially, given the secrets she'd kept over the years.

Peter was such a  gentle soul. He'd been hurt so much and he genuinely did care and love Megan. A part of me wanted there to be a few more scenes before the two of them, just to see more of their friendship. 

Jack and Holly are the epitome of a really lovely couple. However, I really liked that bit of conflict that Jack felt inside at Megan's death and the memories that continued to flood his mind. It didn't paint everything to always be picture perfect, yet Holly and Jack loved each other very much and that was enough to not tear them apart given the unspoken secrets between them.

All of the dynamics between the five main characters and their development throughout the book is paced really well and they're SO REAL! You could see them frowning, or crying or laughing or that far-off look in their eyes as they reminisced...

Wow, okay, maybe I should wrap this up now before I continue rambling on forever...-- Quick summary of all of that: IT IS SUCH A BEAUTIFUL, AMAZING BOOK! I easily recommend it to anyone who is in need of a very good read.

I applaud and commend you, Mrs. Melissa Foster! Lovely job well done! winkheart

-Stacy

WriterGirl's picture
WriterGirl
Online
Joined: 2011-08-02
Wow, that really, really touched me

Hi Stacy, thank you so much. Your review gave me chills. When I sat down to write Megan's Way, i wondered if I could do what was in my head justice, if I could wrap those emotions that were so powerful while I was writing (I cried at points!) into meaningful emotions on paper. Your review tells me that I did okay. It means a lot to me that you took the time to post, and thank you so muchheart. What a joy for me to read your review and everyone else's. You give me inspiration to keep writing!

AdaptiveThemes